Coming Soon: Doctor Who – The Daleks & Doctor Who – Survival Soundtracks

Silva Screen have announced that not one, but two classic Doctor Who serial soundtracks are spinning their way into your hi-fi.

Coming from different ends of the shows history – with very different approaches to incidental music.

The first is the soundtrack for the First Doctor serial, The Daleks (or The Mutants or perhaps The Dead Planet if you so please) from 1963/64 while the second hails from the end of the classic era, the Seventh Doctor adventure, Survival from 1989.

The material has been compiled, mastered and produced by regular Doctor Who contributor Mark Ayres and both releases boast newly commissioned artwork from Clayton Hickman.

The Daleks incidental music was composed by a pioneer in the field of electronic music, Tristram Cary, a wartime naval officer specialising in radar and electronics. He combined a career at the cutting edge of experimental music with works for cinema (The Ladykillers), television and radio. Together with Peter Zinovieff and David Cockerell, Cary was one of the founders of EMS, the company behind classic VCS3 and Synthi 100 synthesisers, which he helped design.

The Daleks made their debut in Doctor Who just before Christmas 1963 and Cary’s music was composed to script as a number of atmospheric pieces for specific scenes and situations. Here, Cary’s work combined live musicians with pure electronics, musique concrete and electronic treatments. This release of the soundtrack expands on a previous issue and includes music from all seven episodes plus unreleased material and extended cues.

The Daleks Tracklisting:

Episode 1: The Dead Planet

1 Doctor Who (Original Theme)

2 Forest Atmosphere

3 Skaro: Petrified Forest Atmosphere (“Thal Wind”)

4 Forest With Creature

5 City Music 1&2

6 Thing In Jungle

7 TARDIS Computer

8 City Music 3

9 Dalek City Corridor

10 The Daleks

Episode 2: The Survivors

11 Radiation Sickness

12 Dalek Control Room

13 The Storm 1&2

Episode 3: The Escape

14 The Storm Continued (Susan Meets Alydon)

15 Inside The City

16 What’s Inside A Dalek

Episode 4: The Ambush

17 The Fight

18 The Ambush

19 Fluid Link

Episode 5: The Expedition

20 Rising Tension

21 Demented Dalek

22 The Swamp

Episode 6: The Ordeal

23 The Cave 1

24 Barbara Lose The Rope

25 High Sound And Heartbeats (Antodus And Ganatus)

26 Pebble Dropped

27 Captives Of The Daleks

28 Heartbeats (Antodus Falls)

Episode 7: The Rescue

29 The Cave II

30 Capsule Oscillation (Dalek Destructor Fuse/Bomb Countdown)

31 Explosion/TARDIS Stops

Bonus Tracks

32 Five Explosions

33 The Ambush (Loop)

34 Funeral Chords

35 Funeral Chords (Alternative)

36 Funeral Chords (Loop)

Survival’s soundtrack was composed by Dominic Glynn who is closely associated with the 1980s era of Doctor Who. A major creator of production music his work can also be heard in hundreds of film and TV productions worldwide as diverse as The Simpsons, Red Dwarf and Dead Like Me. Dominic is also a producer and DJ in the field of electronica. He has recorded under the name of Fluid and Cybajaz, and has contributed music to Re-Volt.

Transmitted in late 1989, Survival marked the end of an era for Doctor Who, the final series from a continuous 26 year run. A few tracks from the series appeared on the Doctor Who 50th Anniversary compilation but the rest are all previously unreleased.

Survival Tracklisting:

1 Doctor Who (Opening Theme)

2 Car Wash, With Kitling

3 Tin Cans, Stray Cats And Horses

4 Cat Food

5 Where Is Everyone?

6 Tin Opener

7 Park Chase, And The Alien Planet

8 An Unexpected Pleasure

9 Planet Of The Cheetah People

10 Two Pints

11 Playing With Fire

12 Valley Of Cats

13 The Living Planet

14 We Shall Become Animals

15 Ace And Karra

16 Go Home

17 I Will Be Free Of It

18 Come Hunting, Sister

19 Midge And The Bad Cat Man

20 On Horsenden Hill

21 Tooth And Claw

22 Run For Ever

23 “…And Somewhere Else, The Tea’s Getting Cold”

24 Doctor Who (Closing Theme)

Doctor Who – The Daleks and Doctor Who – Survival are to be released on 15th September 2017 in both physical and digital format. They are available to pre-order now from Amazon for £12.26.