Doctor Who Series 9 Soundtrack to be Released in April (FINALLY!)

It’s finally here – the Doctor Who Soundtrack: Series 9 is up for pre-order, and comes out next month!

Fans have been patiently waiting for this CD boxset since Series 9 debuted in September 2015; over two years since the run of episodes concluded, the soundtrack for all 13 episodes, by the ever-talented Murray Gold, is to be released by Silva Screen, first as a Limited Edition, then as a Standard issue.

The former is naturally limited in number, and comes with an exclusive booklet featuring Stuart Manning’s great poster designs, plus slipcase; if you can’t get hold of this, a second non-limited edition will be available, sans booklet and slipcase, but still includes all the music from: The Magician’s Apprentice/ The Witch’s Familar, Under the Lake/ Before the Flood, The Girl Who Died, The Woman Who Lived, The Zygon Invasion/ The Zygon Inversion, Sleep No More, Face the Raven, and Heaven Sent/ Hell Bent, plus the 2015 festive special, The Husbands of River Song.

Here’s the synopsis:

Premiering in September 2015, the ninth series of Doctor Who featured Peter Capaldi in the title role in his sophomore season as television’s favourite time traveller. This all encompassing four part collection features general cues on discs one and two, the complete score from the episode Heaven Sent on disc three and on disc four the Christmas Special, The Husbands Of River Song. Five time BAFTA nominee Murray Gold recently confirmed that he is stepping down from composer duties on the show after 12 years of providing some of the finest music to be heard on contemporary television. This is also the 12th Silva Screen release of his music from the 2005 revival onwards and underlines the breadth of Gold’s composing skill across over two and a half hours of music.

The latest contemporary soundtrack released was the Series 8 set, all the way back in May 2015. That’s right: it’s been a gap of nearly 3 years!

And yes, they’re using the new Chibnall-era logo. Cheer or sigh accordingly.

Here’s exactly what’s on the four-discs:

1. The One in a Thousand
2. Davros Remembers
3. Message from Missy
4. Meeting in the Square
5. Finding The Doctor
6. What Have You Done
7. Davros Approaches
8. Some Kind of Submarine
9. The Ghosts
10. The Bootstrap Paradox
11. Finding The Fisher King
12. Another Ghost Has Appeared
13. We Need to Get Back to The TARDIS
14. Directions from The Ghosts
15. Something in the Spacesuit
16. Two Days on a Longboat
17. I Am Ashildr
18. In a Way, She’s a Hybrid
19. I Call Myself Me
20. They Need Us
21. The Last Thing We Need

1. Deep Cover
2. Just Come Inside
3. This is Not a War
4. Defending The Earth
5. The Morpheus Song
6. Saving Rigsy
7. Madam Mayor
8. Running from the Raven
9. Death is Locked In
10. Face the Raven
11. Back Home
12. The General’s Regeneration
13. A Duty of Care
14. Clara’s Diner

1. A Second Shadow
2. The Veil
3. A Fly on a Painting
4. A Change of Clothes
5. A Mechanical Maze
6. Digging a Grave
7. Tell No Lies
8. Two Events in Life
9. Waiting for the Veil
10. The Final Room
11. One Confession Away
12. Break Free
13. Same Old Day
14.The Shepherd’s Boy

1. Carol Singers will be Criticised
2. A Dying Husband
3. The Finest Surgeon in The Galaxy
4. The Halassi Androvar
5. The Husbands of River Song
6. The TARDIS Can’t Take Off
7. Time to Do it Properly
8. Harmony and Redemption
9. Hydroflax in The TARDIS
10. Whole Again at Last
11. All the Firewalls in The Galaxy
12. A Restaurant with a View
13. The Woman He Loves
14. The Singing Towers

Doctor Who Soundtrack: Series 9 is out on 27th April 2018, with an RRP (according to Silva Screen) of £14.99; Amazon’s current listing is fluctuating above that price, but we expect it to settle back to its RRP, and ensured by their pre-order price guarantee.