Celebrate 20 Years of Professor Bernice Summerfield with Big Finish

More details are emerging about how Big Finish is celebrating 20 years of Professor Bernice Summerfield, as played by Lisa Bowerman.

In September, two boxsets will cast an eye across numerous eras of the time-travelling archaeologist’s life. Here’s the synopsis for The Story So Far – Volume One:

One remarkable archaeologist. Three remarkable adventures.

Time travel! Earth invaded! A wedding!

One of two three-story full-cast sets released to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the archaeologist and Doctor’s companion, Bernice Summerfield.

1. Ever After Happy by James Goss

Bernice Summerfield is a young rebel, living in the grounds of a military Academy. The enemy fleet’s looking for them, there are strange lights in the sky, and a terrible new gardener called Wintergreen.

2. The Grel Invasion of Earth by Jacqueline Rayner

Good Fact: Jason Kane is still in love with Benny!

Additional Fact: He’s using the Time Rings to prove it!

Bad Fact: The year is 2150-ish and the Grel have invaded the Earth!

3. Braxiatel in Love by Simon Guerrier

Irving Braxiatel likes to collect things, and when he gains a fiancee, Bernice Summerfield can’t help but be suspicious. What are her mysterious employer’s motives? It can’t just be love, can it? Nothing on the Braxiatel Collection is ever that simple. Not even love.

And in The Story So Far – Volume Two features the Doctor! Sort of…

One of two three-story full-cast sets released to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the archaeologist and Doctor’s companion, Bernice Summerfield.

4. Every Dark Thought by Eddie Robson

The Doctor (Michael Jayston) has asked for Benny’s help digging up some mysterious ruins. He claims they contain the secret of eternal life. Why would the Doctor want that?

5. Empress of the Drahvins by David Llewellyn

Benny and her friend Ruth honestly don’t mean to cause a revolution. When they crashland on the planet Drahva, they just want to get off it immediately. But the fearsome matriarchy has other ideas for Benny and Ruth. For one thing, they need a new empress.

6. The Angel of History by Una McCormack

Annis is an archaeology lecturer at a university. Under fire from friends, students and the police for holding entirely the wrong view of history, the only person who seems to believe her is a mysterious Professor.

Each of these boxsets comes with an additional disc of behind the scenes extras and interviews with the cast.

But before that, this August, Bernice Summerfield: Treasury is a new collection of existing adventures brought to life by Big Finish, as Producer, James Goss explains:

“Big Finish has been publishing Benny short stories for twenty years and some astonishing names have contributed. Treasury is a collection of just some of them – a range of rare, delightful and surprising gems.”

The set includes:

  • The Evacuation of Bernice Summerfield by Ben Aaronovitch
  • Walking Backwards for Christmas by Ben Aaronovitch
  • The Library of Books by Andrew Cartmel
  • Misplaced Spring by Paul Cornell
  • A Mutual Friend by Terrance Dicks
  • The Least Important Man by Steven Moffat
  • Solar Max by Kate Orman
  • And Then Again by Robert Shearman

The Story So Far – Volume 1 and Volume 2 are available for pre-order individually at £15 on download or £20 on CD. Alternatively, you can save money in a bundle – pre-order Volumes 1 and 2 together for £28 on download or £38 on CD. Meanwhile, Bernice Summerfield: Treasury will be available in August, priced at £20 on CD or £15 on download.