Read Four Lethbridge-Stewart Books Free on Kindle

Fancy something to read over the Bank Holiday? Candy Jar Books has you covered, offering four free Lethbridge-Stewart books to read completely free on Kindle.

The books on offer are: A Very Private Haunting; Life of Evans; The Flaming Soldier; and The New Unusual. However, you’ve got a limited time to download these titles onto your device.

You only have until Tuesday 28th May 2019 to get A Very Private Haunting and Life of Evans; and Wednesday 29th May 2019 to enjoy The Flaming Soldier, and The New Unusual.

These are all spin-off stories based on the characters largely introduced in The Web of Fear, prominently starring Alistair Gordon Lethbridge-Stewart, better known to fans as the Brigadier, and played on TV by Nicholas Courtney.

All you need to do is go to their respective pages on Amazon and download! Make sure the price is £0.00 before proceeding, just in case you’re reading this after the end of the promotion.

Here are the synopses (with Amazon links in the titles):

A Very Private Haunting

Brigadier Lethbridge-Stewart is not a man who likes to leave things unfinished. He is, therefore, at a loss when forced into taking leave after his recent tussle with a ‘shadow creature’, a case that has yet to be fully resolved.

Ann Travers is tired of the loss burning in her heart. So when Lethbridge-Stweart is called to Glencross to help the son of an old friend, she insists on going with him.

In Glencross, young Tomas Campbell has gone missing, and his friends band together to uncover the dark secret at the heart of the village. Meanwhile, Arthur Penrose has returned to his ancestral home to find a haunted residence, and a doll with a message.

What connects the doll to the strange sounds that scurry around Penrose Manor, why do the adults of Glencross seem so intent on keeping their children from leaving the village, and what has all this got to do with the ‘shadow creature’? It is up to Lethbridge-Stewart and Ann to find out.

Life of Evans

The Brigadier, from BBC TV’s Doctor Who, never could work out what to do with Evans. He never got on with the troops, was always shirking responsibility. So a reassignment to Imber was in order, and a whole new training programme under the watchful eye of Captain Younghusband.

Includes bonus short story, ‘Time and Again’, by Robert Mammone. This is a sequel to the 1985 Doctor Who television serial Timelash and prequel to the forthcoming spin-off series, Travers & Wells.

The Flaming Soldier

Brigadier, from BBC TV’s Doctor Who, is investigating a series of cases of spontaneous combustion. How can an inferno start inside a brick wall? Who or what are the ghost-like creatures spotted in the area around Imber base? Does it have anything to do with Eileen Younghusband, hotel proprietor, whose ordinary day is about to be interrupted by secrets from her past?

Traumatic events from the Second World War impact upon the present day and a mysterious aircraft could hold the key to the identity of the flaming soldier.

The New Unusual

It’s the early 1970s, a time of change, a time of turmoil, a time of surrealism, LSD and the Age of Aquarius, a time of fads, Moon landings and wars, and the young people of the world are seeking something new – and unusual!

For Anne Travers, an encounter with a so-called “dream egg” is just the beginning of a long nightmare. Her scientific curiosity aroused, Anne begins to probe the secret underground scene known as “dream-ins” where students and others meet to get involved with a new craze and, perhaps, something far more alien to human experience.

And for Brigadier Lethbridge-Stewart, who finds himself drawn into Anne’s investigations, this probe will lead himand the Fifth Operational Corps to the wilderness of the Australian Outback, to a little opal mining town called Coober Pedy and a search for answers.

Head over to Amazon now!