Doctor Who Series 11 Nominated for Saturn Awards

The 11th series of Doctor Who, along with stars Jodie Whittaker and Tosin Cole, has been nominated for this year’s Saturn Awards. The Saturn Award is the official honour presented by the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films. This will be the 45th year of the event.

The Academy was founded in 1972 by Dr. Donald A. Reed, a life-long fan of genre entertainment and a noted authority on the Dracula mythology. It has several hundred members in Los Angeles and beyond and holds official screenings for the purposes of award consideration and promoting what it considers to be the best in genre work on film, TV, and stage.

Jodie Whittaker and Tosin Cole

Doctor Who is nominated in the category of ‘Best Science Fiction Television Series’ and faces competition from Counterpart, Krypton, Manifest, Roswell, New Mexico, The 100, The Orville, and Westworld. The series was nominated last year but lost out to The Orville.

Jodie Whitaker is nominated for ‘Best Actress on a Television Series,’ alongside Adrianne Palicki (The Orville), Caitriona Balfe (Outlander), Candice Patton (The Flash), Emilia Clarke (Game of Thrones), Melissa Benoist (Supergirl), and Sandra Oh (Killing Eve). Last year’s winner was Sonequa Martin-Green for her portrayal of Michael Burnham in Star Trek: Discovery.

Tosin Cole, meanwhile, is up for ‘Best Younger Actor on a Television Series’ against Benjamin Wadsworth (Deadly Class), Cameron Cuffe (Krypton), Cole Sprouse (Riverdale), David Mazouz (Gotham), KJ Apa (Riverdale), and Maisie Williams (Game of Thrones). Last year’s prize went to Chandler Riggs, who played Carl Grimes in The Walking Dead.

The prize.

This year’s Saturn Awards ceremony will be held on 13th September in Burbank, California. DWC wishes all the nominees the best of luck.