The Doctor Who Companion

Get your daily fix of news, reviews, and features with the Doctor Who Companion!

The Five Doctors and The Invasion Soundtracks to be Released on CD

Two new soundtracks from Classic Doctor Who will be released on CD later this year: The Invasion and The Five Doctors, two fan favourite serials (the latter of which was the show’s 20th anniversary celebration).
While neither has so far been confirmed for the UK, both titles appeared on the American site, Screen Archives Entertainment and have a preliminary release date of September 2018. In case you’ve lost track of life, that’s next month.
Clayton Hickman (former editor of Doctor Who Magazine, and designer of many DVD covers) has created the covers and suffice to say, they’re beautiful.
Here are the synopses and track listings:

The Five Doctors

The Five Doctors, made and transmitted as a 90-minute special in 1983, was the 20th anniversary outing for the good Doctor, seeing the incumbent Peter Davison joined by previous incarnations Richard Hurndall (standing in for the deceased William Hartnell), Patrick Troughton, Jon Pertwee, and Tom Baker. The latter declined to return in person so soon after he had left, so was represented by some footage from “lost” story ‘Shada’.

The music was composed by Peter Howell at the BBC Radiophonic Workshop. It was, in accordance with normal practice at the time, mixed in mono, so is presented here within a subtle mono-compatible stereo image. The sound effects for the story were by Dick Mills, but Peter was anxious to include the Death Zone atmosphere as part of the score so – with Dick still working on a previous project for a while – created that effect himself. The story would later be edited into the standard 4 x 25m episode format for syndication, for which Peter provided some additional “cliff hanger” cues.

In 1995, producer Paul Vanezis was contracted by BBC Video to produce a “Special Edition” of the story, extended beyond the original length (as determined by the transmission slot) and featuring updated visual effects. It was also decided to mix it in Dolby Surround (later updated to full 5.1 surround for DVD) so Peter Howell was called in to rework the music. Both versions of the score are presented complete on this release.

1 Doctor Who – Opening Theme (The Five Doctors)
2 New Console
3 The Eye of Orion
4 Cosmic Angst
5 Melting Icebergs
6 Great Balls of Fire
7 My Other Selves
8 No Coordinates
9 Bus Stop
10 No Where, No Time
11 Dalek Alley and The Death Zone
12 Hand in the Wall
13 Who Are You?
14 The Dark Tower / My Best Enemy
15 The Game of Rassilon
16 Cybermen I
17 Below
18 Cybermen II
19 The Castellan Accused / Cybermen III
20 Raston Robot
21 Not the Mind Probe
22 Where There’s a Wind, There’s a Way
23 Cybermen vs Raston Robot
24 Above and Between
25 As Easy as Pi
26 Phantoms
27 The Tomb of Rassilon
28 Killing You Once was Never Enough
29 Oh, Borusa
30 Mindlock
31 Immortality
32 Doctor Who Closing Theme – The Five Doctors Edit
33 Death Zone Atmosphere
34 End of Episode 1 (Sarah Falls)
35 End of Episode 2 (Cybermen III variation)
36 End of Episode 3 (Nothing to Fear)
37 The Five Doctors Special Edition: Prologue (Premix)
38 Doctor Who – Opening Theme (The Five Doctors Special Edition)
39 The Five Doctors Special Edition: Prologue
40 The Eye of Orion / Cosmic Angst (Special Edition)
41 Melting Icebergs (Special Edition)
42 Great Balls of Fire (Special Edition)
43 My Other Selves (Special Edition)
44 Nothing Can Go Wrong (Special Edition)
45 Bus Stop (Special Edition)
46 No Where, No Time (Special Edition)
47 Enter Borusa (Special Edition)
48 Enter The Master (Special Edition)
49 Dalek Alley and The Death Zone (Special Edition)
50 Hand in the Wall (Special Edition)
51 Recall Signal (Special Edition)
52 Who Are You? / Tell Me All About It (Special Edition)
53 Thunderbolts (Special Edition)
54 The Dark Tower (Special Edition)
55 My Best Enemy (Special Edition)
56 The Game of Rassilon (Special Edition)
57 Cybermen I (Special Edition)
58 Below (Special Edition)
59 Cybermen II (Special Edition)
60 The Castellan Accused / Cybermen III (Special Edition)
61 Raston Robot (Special Edition)
62 Not the Mind Probe (Special Edition)
63 Where There’s a Wind, There’s a Way (Special Edition)
64 Cybermen vs Raston Robot (Special Edition)
65 Above and Between (Special Edition)
66 The Fortress of the Time Lords (Special Edition)
67 As Easy as Pi (Special Edition)
68 I Hope You’ve Got Your Sums Right / Phantoms (Special Edition)
69 The Tomb of Rassilon (Special Edition)
70 Killing You Once was Never Enough (Special Edition)
71 Oh, Borusa (Special Edition)
72 Mindlock (Special Edition)
73 Immortality (Special Edition)
74 Doctor Who Closing Theme – The Five Doctors Edit (Special Edition)
75 The Eye of Orion Atmosphere
76 Time Scoop
77 Transmat operates
78 Rassilon background
79 Borusa ring sequence
80 The Five Doctors Titles Zap

The Invasion

The Invasion was an eight part Doctor Who story made and transmitted in 1968. Written by Derrick Sherwin (from a story by Kit Pedler) it starred Patrick Troughton as the Second Doctor. At the helm was Douglas Camfield, one of popular television’s most maverick and talented directors in the 1960s and 1970s. The music was composed by Don Harper, the third Australian émigré composer (after Ron Grainer and Dudley Simpson) to work on the programme.

The master tape of the music for ‘The Invasion’ was lost soon after transmission, but Harper retained a 7½ ips ‘composer’s copy’ that forms the basis of this release. Additionally, the score was augmented by extensive use of electronic sounds by Brian Hodgson of the BBC Radiophonic Workshop.

1 Doctor Who (new opening theme, 1967)
2 The Dark Side of the Moon (Music 2 Variation)
3 The Company (Music 7)
4 Hiding (Music 8)
5 International Electromatics Headquarters (Music 3)
6 Muzak
7 The Cyber Director (Music 5)
8 The Cybermen, My Allies (Music 7)
9 Brigadier Lethbridge-Stewart (Music 12a)
10 Plans for Invasion (Music 8)
11 Mysteries (Music 12)
12 Fire Escape (Music 11)
13 The Dark Side of the Moon (Reprise) (Music 2)
14 The Cybermen, My Allies (Reprise) (Music 7, looped)
15 Music 4 (Trapped in Gas Chamber – v. 1 & 2)
16 Music 9
17 Music 10
18 Music 13
19 Music 14
20 Music 15a
21 Music 15b
22 Music 15c
23 Music 15d
24 Music 15e
25 Music 15f
26 Music 15g
27 Music 15h
28 Music 16a
29 Music 16b
30 Music 16c
31 Music 16d
32 Music 16e
33 Music 16f
34 Music 16g
35 Part of TARDIS disappears
36 All of TARDIS disappears
37 TARDIS take off slow and painful
38 International Electromatics Headquarters Exterior
39 International Electromatics Headquarters Interior
40 Computer Background
41 Computer Whirrs
42 Electronic Eye
43 Cyber Director Appears
44 Cyber Director Constant
Similar to previous releases like The Daleks and Survival, we expect them both to RRP at £10.99 on CD. As ever, the DWC will keep you updated!
Will you pick these soundtracks up? Which other Classic Who scores would you snap up in a heartbeat?

Philip Bates

Editor and co-founder of the Doctor Who Companion. When he’s not watching television, reading books ‘n’ Marvel comics, listening to The Killers, and obsessing over script ideas, Philip Bates pretends to be a freelance writer. He enjoys collecting everything. Writer of The Black Archive: The Pandorica Opens/ The Big Bang, The Silver Archive: The Stone Tape, and 100 Objects of Doctor Who.

The Five Doctors and The Invasion Soundtracks to be Released on CD

by Philip Bates time to read: 4 min
%d bloggers like this: