The Doctor Who Companion

Get your daily fix of news, reviews, and features with the Doctor Who Companion!

Writer, Joy Wilkinson Reveals Doctor Who Series 11 Episode Title

Though not confirmed by the BBC just yet, another Doctor Who Series 11 episode title has been announced: The Witch Finders, written by Joy Wilkinson.
The screenwriter, whose credits include The Life and Adventures of Nick Nickleby and Land Girls, revealed the title during an interview on Women’s Hour on BBC Radio 4. It means we now know just three serial names for the season, starting with The Woman Who Fell To Earth which airs tomorrow (7th October 2018). Meanwhile, episode 2 is The Ghost Monument. Both these episode have been written by new showrunner, Chris Chibnall.
Witches have been spotted on set during filming for Block Three of Series 11, directed by Sallie Aprahamian. This means that The Witch Finders will likely air as episode 4 – appropriately on 28th October, the Sunday before Hallowe’en! (As an aside, I’ve been arguing for a while that Doctor Who deserves a Hallowe’en special, so this is a pleasant surprise, and might indicate that the production team, and the BBC, know what they’re doing…)
Wilkinson previously said:

“I loved the show and felt like it might be a good fit for me, but I knew it was really hard to get onto. So quite frankly I’m still pinching myself to be here!”

X-Men 2 star, Alan Cumming has previously been announced as playing King James, whose fascination with the dark arts led to his persecution of supposed witches.
We reckon The Witch Finders is a strong title, and it’s nice to learn a little more about the series – after all, we don’t like spoilers, but equally, it’s getting a bit close to transmission for us to not even know serial names.
Doctor Who Series 11 begins on BBC1 and BBC America on 7th October 2018, the first to feature Jodie Whittaker as the Thirteenth Doctor.

Philip Bates

Editor and co-founder of the Doctor Who Companion. When he’s not watching television, reading books ‘n’ Marvel comics, listening to The Killers, and obsessing over script ideas, Philip Bates pretends to be a freelance writer. He enjoys collecting everything. Writer of The Black Archive: The Pandorica Opens/ The Big Bang, The Silver Archive: The Stone Tape, and 100 Objects of Doctor Who.

Writer, Joy Wilkinson Reveals Doctor Who Series 11 Episode Title

by Philip Bates time to read: 1 min
%d bloggers like this: