The Doctor Who Companion

Get your daily fix of news, reviews, and features with the Doctor Who Companion!

Join in Tomorrow’s Watch-Along to Celebrate 10 Years of The Eleventh Hour [UPDATED]

Can you believe that tomorrow (3rd April 2020) marks the tenth anniversary of the Eleventh Doctor’s full debut episode, The Eleventh Hour? That’s right: a decade since fish fingers and custard! And to celebrate that occasion, Doctor Who Magazine‘s Emily Cook has organised a watch-along of the episode and has tempted writer and former showrunner, Steven Moffat back to Twitter to take part in a tweet-along.

This comes after similar rewatches of The Day of the Doctor, Rose, and Vincent and the Doctor, all of which went down a storm on social media, especially as they brought Matt Smith, Russell T. Davies, Richard Curtis, and Bill Nighy to Twitter, albeit temporarily. Karen Gillan and Tony Curran also took part.

Update: Matt Smith will be returning to Twitter alongside Steven Moffat, and, for the first time, director Adam Smith will be involved, as will Rory Williams himself, Arthur Darvill. And the TARDIS team will be complete as Karen Gillan will be tweeting about the episode too.

Emily has also revealed that costumer designer, Ray Holman will be on Twitter tomorrow to answer questions and talk about working on the Eleventh Doctor’s outfit. That will start at 5pm.

There will be additional material to accompany the rewatch, perhaps a cut scene that Moffat regrets losing, released at 6pm.

Just insert your DVD or Blu-ray of The Eleventh Hour (or use a streaming service such as BBC iPlayer, Amazon Video, iTunes, Google Play or Netflix), and then hit play tomorrow (3rd April 2020) at 7pm BST / 2pm EDT / 5am AEDT / 7am NZDT. Tweet your thoughts and use the hashtag #FishCustard

Philip Bates

Editor and co-founder of the Doctor Who Companion. When he’s not watching television, reading books ‘n’ Marvel comics, listening to The Killers, and obsessing over script ideas, Philip Bates pretends to be a freelance writer. He enjoys collecting everything.

Join in Tomorrow’s Watch-Along to Celebrate 10 Years of The Eleventh Hour [UPDATED]

by Philip Bates time to read: 1 min
1
%d bloggers like this: