The Doctor Who Companion

Get your daily fix of news, reviews, and features with the Doctor Who Companion!

Obverse Books Announces New Titles for Its 2023 Black Archive Schedule

Obverse Books has announced all the titles in next year’s Black Archive slate, featuring examinations of stories featuring the First, Second, Twelfth, and Thirteenth Doctors!

The Black Archive range is a series of monographs exploring Doctor Who serials — TV stories featuring every Doctor. And in 2023, the books will tackle The Edge of Destruction, The Myth Makers, The Faceless Ones, The Girl Who Died, Ascension of the Cybermen/ The Timeless Children, and Flux.

Well, actually, February 2023 sees a departure from the usual monograph structure, with an anthology of essays on the 2021 story, Flux, edited by Paul Driscoll. Seven authors, both newcomers and some popular contributors, give their thoughts on the six-episode saga, as follows:

  • Introduction and Conclusion by Alasdair Stuart
  • The Halloween Apocalypse by James Cooray Smith
  • War of the Sontarans by Emma Reed
  • Once, Upon Time by Philip Purser-Hallard
  • Village of the Angels by Oliver Tompkins
  • Survivors of the Flux by James Mortimer
  • The Vanquishers by Matt Hills.

In April, Norse specialist Tom Marshall examines the 2015 Viking story, The Girl Who Died, while in June, Ian Potter, author of The Black Archive: Carnival of Monsters, delves further back into legend and history for 1966’s The Myth Makers. In August, Ryan Bradley look at the controversial two-parter, Ascension of the Cybermen/ The Timeless Children.

In October 2023, Obverse marks the approaching 60th anniversary of Doctor Who with a book on its third ever story. Popular author Simon Guerrier (The Black Archive: The Evil of the Daleks) returns to examine 1964’s The Edge of Destruction.

Finally, in December, Joseph Oldham investigates the 1967 story, The Faceless Ones.

More titles have been commissioned well beyond 2023, covering all decades of Doctor Who and including at least one Christmas special.

In the meantime, here’s the remaining schedule for 2022-23 in full:

  • August 2022: The Black Archive: The Sun Makers by Lewis Baston
  • October 2022: The Black Archive: Paradise Towers by John Toon
  • December 2022: The Black Archive: Kinda by Frank Collins
  • February 2023: The Black Archive: Flux edited by Paul Driscoll
  • April 2023: The Black Archive: The Girl Who Died by Tom Marshall
  • June 2023: The Black Archive: The Myth Makers by Ian Potter
  • August 2023: The Black Archive: Ascension of the Cybermen/ The Timeless Children by Ryan Bradley
  • October 2023: The Black Archive: The Edge of Destruction by Simon Guerrier
  • December 2023: The Black Archive: The Faceless Ones by Joseph Oldham

Find out more about The Black Archive range over at Obverse Books!

Philip Bates

Editor and co-founder of the Doctor Who Companion. When he’s not watching television, reading books ‘n’ Marvel comics, listening to The Killers, and obsessing over script ideas, Philip Bates pretends to be a freelance writer. He enjoys collecting everything. Writer of The Black Archive: The Pandorica Opens/ The Big Bang, The Silver Archive: The Stone Tape, and 100 Objects of Doctor Who.

Obverse Books Announces New Titles for Its 2023 Black Archive Schedule

by Philip Bates time to read: 2 min
%d bloggers like this: